If you are anything like me, you frequently make changes to your site. You edit the code, test new templates, and try a variety of plugins. And if you’re like me, you make mistakes and hope that no one is viewing your site when you’ve temporarily trashed it.
After numerous temporary and minor disasters I now use the maintenance mode plugin.
Once maintenance mode is activated, a page will go up saying that your site is undergoing maintenance and to try back in a hour. If you are logged into your site, you will still see the site normally and the changes you are making while your visitors will see the maintenance page.