Since WordPress 2.6 post revisions have been included, which means every save of a draft is saved as a revision of that post. This is a great feature for those working in a collaborative environment with multiple editors and is a way of tracking changes, but for those of us who blog alone, it is an unnecessary feature that adds a lot of additional data that will really increase the size of the WordPress database.
There are two ways to turn off this feature so that post revisions are no longer used nor stored in the database. One is a simple change to your wp-config.php file and the other is a plugin.
You will want to add a line to the wp-config.php file This is the imporant file stored with your WordPress installation that contains the name of your database and the username and password to access it. You can access this file via ftp or your cpanel file manager and can edit it in any text editor, like Notepad.
Now, just the one autosave will be saved. I wasn’t too concerned about this until I realized that one post have 20 revisions and that just seemed like way too much to store in my database. Of course, if you turn off this feature, you won’t have access to the silly WordPress Easter Egg.
WP-CMS Post Control builds upon WordPress 2.7 features to give total control over the Write Options. One of the things the plugin does is allow you to turn off the Post Revisions. Some of the other features included are turn off auto-save and turn off the flash uploaded so the browser one if the default.
Do you think it’s worth bothering to turn off Post Revisions to keep your database lighter? Or do you utilize and like that feature?
photo credit: jez